Colorfully Healthy Macaroni Salad – My Very Own Version

Early in the afternoon today, after having ran some errands for my mom, I and Axle (my ever loving boyfriend) decided to do a simple salad recipe while spending the rest of the day together. It’s Saturday and like everybody else, we’ve made a few plans to carry out within the day. This day is quite special because my band’s (AMIHAN) second guest performance for GMA 7’s Maynila was aired at about nine o’clock in the morning a while ago.

After having “goto” for a late lunch, we decided to start our quest to trying a new macaroni salad version which I conceptualized a few days ago. I’d like to call it the “Carefully Healthy Macaroni Salad”. This is pretty easy to do. Anyone can even make their own. I am a no cook or kitchen expert so I think I’d settle for making salads from now on. Hahaha! Here are the stuff we used:

1. Ham slices (fried)

fried ham

2. Choice of fruits. As for me, I prefer to use apples and grapes. In this photo, we had already sliced the grapes into bite-sizes.

Fruits galore!

3. Green bell peppers, celery, and parsley were also in the list.

Green bell peppers! Yummy! 

On with celery leaves and stalks.

4. And of course, who would forget a large bowl of elbow macaroni?

Elbow macaroni.

Basically, all you have to do to make this salad is to slice the fruits into chunkier bits and mix them among other ingredients.

Slice the apples!

Then, cut the apples in to chunks or bite-size pieces.

Then, it’s about time to chop the celery and mince the parsley. Yey!

When done, the ingredients may now be mixed with the macaroni. Aside from the aforementioned fruits and vegetables, we also mixed in some dices of cheese, finely-chopped red onions, and a sprinkle of ground pepper to taste. And of course, who would forget the plain mayo! Basically, that makes this salad creamy!

Having finished putting the condiments altogether, we proceeded to mixing them in a single large plastic container.

I was the one who did the mixing. Love!

(I’m very sorry with the outfit. I always dress this way when am at home. Hahaha!)

Axle decided to add some more celery and parsley to enhance the flavor. I really love how the salad turned out to be. Very greenish and colorful! You’re guaranteed to have tons of nutritious fruits and vegies in there. Yum!

The macaroni salad freaks! Hehehe!

And this is the final outcome.

Joshua just hates it when he’s being photographed while eating. But he definitely loves my Colorfully Healthy Macaroni Salad!

I really love how the finished salad tasted! Everyone loves it even my little brother who’s very picky and hard to please when it comes to food. There was nothing left,  as in, LITERALLY. How I wish we could have made more in a larger container. But anyway, this is not bad for our first macaroni salad version trial.

Hope you liked this salad recipe. Feel free to try it out yourself.

Happy eating!

♥ TINA ♥

What are your thoughts in this?

